Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Trilenear Targums
Hi, I'm new to this forum.
I work with a french association who works on the origins of christianity and works also with catholique eastern churches.
I'm studying biblical arama??c this year.
The teacher gave us the Targum of Job.
Here we can find "Trilenear Targums". Where can I find a word of introduction about this work ?
What are the sources you give ? Where does those Targums you give come from ?
Thanks.

Samuel Landon
Shlama to you (peace) Samuel,

The Tri-linear targums are most certainly (for the Pentateuch) Onkelos. This is one of two targums on the first five books of Moses that were done about 2000 years ago. The other main Targum that has survived intact for these books is known as the Palestinian or Targum Jonathan.

Which is better? Well, like many things it depends on who you ask. My opinion is that Oneklos is better because its literal style is a key witness to the state of the Hebrew textual tradtiions before the Masoretic standardization. On the other hand, Targum Jonathan has some very interesting "aggadic" (story telling) divergences that give us insight into the Jewish folk traditions.

An excellent treatment of the significance of both of these works is in this book by JW Etheridge: <!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://books.google.com/books?hl=en&id=JJwCAAAAQAAJ&dq=jw+etheridge+targum&printsec=frontcover&source=web&ots=pAJHThsU_a&sig=AmlypPzyPh7YnHj0bYzsUSx97Do&sa=X&oi=book_result&resnum=1&ct=result#PPA35,M1">http://books.google.com/books?hl=en&id= ... t#PPA35,M1</a><!-- m -->