Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
On the "Western Five" extra-Peshitta books
Quote:I am interested to know whether Khabouris and the Aramaic NT Bible are one the same?

Shlama Positron:
The Khabouris Codex is the eastern New Testament Peshitta. It contains 22 books. Excluded are II Peter, II John, III John, Jude and Revelation. Now, the Khabouris Codex is the eastern New Testament Bible. The Crawford Codex, which contains 27 books, including the five books mentioned above is the also called the Aramaic New Testament Bible. The only substantial difference being the inclusion in the Crawford of the Philoxinian Recension. The only other difference is the reading of Hebrews 2:9

"b'taybuta Alaha", "by the grace of God".

"s'tar min Alaha", "apart from God".

In my opinion the 1905 (Peshitta) / 1920 (Western Five Harklean) UBS is not as true to the "autograph" of the original Aramaic New Testament as the Khabouris or the Crawford Codex.

<!-- m --><a class="postlink" href=""></a><!-- m -->

Messages In This Thread
Aramaic New Testament - by Stephen Silver - 10-19-2008, 03:49 AM
Re: Aramaic New Testament - by positron - 10-19-2008, 11:39 AM
Re: Aramaic New Testament - by distazo - 04-22-2009, 10:53 AM

Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)