Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Ebyathar was kohen hagadol Mark 2 :26
The Peshitta says "synagogues" (canushte). "Assembly" or "church" in Aramaic (like in Acts 20:28) is adtah. The Aramaic also says that Jesus is Breh d'Alaha (the Son of God). Aramaic for "Son of YHWH" is Breh d'MarYa. The Aramaic term for "YHWH" is a compound of Mar ("Lord") and the short form of YHWH: "Ya". Aramaic drops the final Heh, or "H"; compare Eliyahu/Eliyah (short form of Eliyahu) and Eliya (Elijah) Both mean "My God is Yah". Jesus is also referred to as MarYa (Lord Yah or Lord YHWH). The AENT translates MarYa as "Master YHWH".

The AENT is fantastic. Frequently compare it to the Interlinear by Paul Younan (seen on this site) and James Murdock's, which you can study on, (which also allows you to compare it, along with the Lamsa and Etheridge translations against the 1905 UBS Critical Peshitta and the famous Khabouris Codex, an important manuscript of the Peshitta) or Andrew Gabriel Roth based the AENT on Paul Younan's interlinear from Matthew 1-Acts 15 and James Murdock's transliteration for the remainder. Roth edited transliterations, corrected mistranslations, and also updated readings. Compare these two scriptures:

Acts 2:38, Murdock New Testament- "Take heed therefore to yourselves, and to all the flock over which the Holy Spirit hath established you bishops; that ye feed the church of God, which he hath acquired by his blood."

Acts 2:38, Aramaic English New Testament- "Take great care of yourselves, and of all the flock over which the Ruach haKodesh has established you as overseers for; that you feed the assembly of Mashiyach, which He has acquired by His blood."

Hebrews 2:9, Murdock New Testament- "But we see him, who was depressed somewhat lower than the angels, to be this Jesus, because of the passion of his death; and glory and honor are placed on his head; for God himself, in his grace, tasted death for all men."

Hebrews 2:9, Aramaic English New Testament- "We see that he is Y'shua, who humbled himself to become a little lower than the Messengers through his suffering and death, but now he is crowned with honor and glory because he tasted death for the sake of everyone apart from Elohim."

When the Church of the East divided, they divided primarily into the Church of the East (also called Nestorians) and the Syriac Orthodox Church (called Jacobites). They also developed different dialects and scripts; one is called Eastern Syriac and the other is called Western Syriac. The Church of the East preserved the Peshitta in it's original form, while the Syriac Orthodox Church edited the Peshitta in some places (primarily Hebrews 2:9 and Acts 20:28) for theological reasons. The Church of the East's New Testament is usually called the Peshitta (or Eastern Peshitta) by us, while the Syriac Orthodox Church's New Testament is called the Peshitto (or Western Peshitta).

The Peshitta also has only 22 of the 27 New Testament books (missing II Peter, II and III John, Jude, and the Revelation), while the Peshitto has all 27. The Assyrian Christians were unaware of the existence of these books until the 1800s. The Aramaic versions we have of the five missing books (called "The Western Five") are translations from Greek manuscripts, but there is no reason to question that they originated in the Aramaic language. The four missing epistles are so small that it is hard to build a case either way, but there is a great case for an Aramaic original to our presently existing Greek versions of the Book of the Revelation. The Church of the East does not reject the Western Five and encourages the people to read them, but did not receive them, like the 22 other books, from the hands of the Apostles. The Western Five are not used liturgically by the Church of the East.

The terms "Nestorians" and "Jacobite" describe the theological positions of the particular churches. The Church of the East follows the teachings of Nestorius that Jesus has two natures (divine and human), but they are separate within Him. The Syriac Orthodox Church follows Jacob Baradaeus, who was a monophysite, meaning that He believed that Jesus only has a divine nature and not both a divine and human nature. Nestorius and the Church of the East did/do not teach that Jesus is two Persons (one divine, one human) but do teach a separation between the deity and humanity of the Messiah, referring to these aspects of His being as qnomeh (this concept does not exist in any other language but Aramaic, and can best be described as the core substance or essence of a being).

You can read my review of the AENT here if you're interested:

I highly recommend getting Janet Magiera's Aramaic Peshitta New Testament Translation (also comes in a "Messianic Version" that uses Aramaic terminology), along with her 3-volume Aramaic Peshitta New Testament Vertical Interlinear, the Way International's 3-volume Aramaic-English Interlinear New Testament, along with David Bauscher's The Original Aramaic New Testament in Plain English and The Aramaic-English Interlinear New Testament. I personally like the Lamsa Bible, but it is flawed. Lamsa occasionally translates his theology into the Peshitta (mainly in the Gospels of Matthew and Mark, usually pertaining to demonic possession) and follows the Greek in some places where it deviates from the Peshitta. You can get all of these on Amazon except the Way's interlinear, which you have to order by calling 419-753-2903.

Messages In This Thread
Re: Ebyathar was kohen hagadol Mark 2 :26 - by ScorpioSniper2 - 05-18-2014, 04:29 PM

Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)