Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
question from a beginner
Hi

I beg your pardon for my question is very naive, compared to the level of the forum, but I am a very beginner.

In the syriac litterature and pubblications, is more used Serto or Estrangelo?

Thanks

Alberto
I think they probably use Estrangelo more now, it's also the font in which the oldest Peshitta manuscripts are written in.
As far as I know, Serto is the standard in academic use, such as for publishing critical editions.

bar Sinko
So it could be good to begin studying also in a Grammar written in Serto?

Alberto
If you want to study The Aramaic New Testament Scriptures Text, in the ancient Manuscripts, you will need to get to know the Estrangela script, which is what they are written in.

The best place online to study the actual Text, is a <!-- w --><a class="postlink" href="http://www.Dukhrana.com">www.Dukhrana.com</a><!-- w -->

Shlama,
Chuck
Obviously my main interest is in reading the New Testament, but I am probably going to publish (better: to help pubblishing) a work in Serto and so I am forced to begin from it.
Do you think it's difficult to learn Estrangelo after you have learned the grammar in Serto? Are there also syntactic and morphological differences?

Alberto

Ps: thoug I am unexperienced in the syriac language, I find this forum very nice and you are all very kind to answer me.
Alberto,

As far as I know, the language is the same in terms of grammar. The difference is script and pronunciation of that script.